## **2023 JOHSC Membership**

According to Section 25(6) of the *PEI Occupational Health and Safety Act*, membership of the committee shall be determined as follows:

- (a) one-half of the members shall be selected by the union representing the workers or, in the absence of a union, by the workers that the members represent;
- (b) one-half of the members shall be selected by the employer.

The UPEI JOHSC will consist of 12 members: six worker members and six employer members.

The Committee must have two co-chairs, one employer, and one union. The Vice-President Administration and Finance (VPAF) will appoint the employer representative. The union representatives will nominate the union chair.

Each committee member must submit a name of an alternate to fill in for them when they are not available to attend a meeting. The replacement will have to be sanctioned by the union group that they represent. The JOHSC alternate will receive the same training as the JOHSC committee members.

## **Members**

Worker Members	Name	Contact Information
CUPE 1870 (Staff)	Beatrice Despres (Co-Chair)	bdespres@upei.ca
CUPE 501 (Security)	Beverly Roy	beroy@upei.ca
Faculty Association	Andrea Bourque	abourque@upei.ca
IBEW 1928 (Facilities Management)	MJ Rogers	marrogers@upei.ca
Student Union	Leena Daboo	vpfinance@upeisu.ca
Graduate Student Association	Mahir Abrar	mabrar@upei.ca
Employer Members		
VP Admin & Finance Appointee	Jennifer Prinz (Co-Chair)	jprinz@upei.ca
VP Admin & Finance Appointee	Marilyn Barrett	mbarrett@upei.ca
Radiation Safety Officer, ex-officio	Debra MacDonald	debmacdonald@upei.ca
Biosafety Officer, ex-officio	Rhoda Speare	rspeare@upei.ca
Manager of Operations, Facilities Management, ex-	Jeremy Dallaire	jdallaire@upei.ca
officio		
Health, Safety, and Environment Manager,	Liz Rostant- MacArthur	<u>Irostant@upei.ca</u>
ex-officio		
Invited Guests		
FSDE H & S Working Group Chair	Ahmed Ibrahim	ahibrahim@upei.ca
Main H & S Working Group Chair	Carolyn Garro	cgarro@upei.ca
Science H & S Working Group Chair	Chris Vessey	cvessey@upei.ca
AVC H & S Working Group Chair	Nicole MacDonald-Jay	nicmacdonald@upei.ca
Accessibility Services	Nicole Wadden- Garland	nwadden@upei.ca
Operations Manager, VTH	Marven MacLean	msmaclean@upei.ca
Recorder – HSE Executive Assistant	Jacky Buell	javbuell@upei.ca

Contact information can be located at the UPEI Staff and Faculty Search at www.upei.ca.